“Biden DOJ Arguments Could Close Courtroom Doors to Voting Rights Challenges”

Equally American:

Tomorrow, the U.S. Department of Justice will argue before a federal district court judge in Reeves v. Nago that federal overseas voting laws that discriminate against residents of Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands cannot be challenged in federal court and that the appropriate remedy for any constitutional violation would be to restrict rather than expand the right to vote. Reeves is a case brought by veterans and others living in Guam and the Virgin Islands who could vote for President and voting representation in Congress if they lived almost anywhere else in the world, including in a foreign country or even the Northern Mariana Islands, a U.S. territory less than a hundred miles from Guam. The March 5th hearing will be before Judge Jill Otake in Hawaii at 9 am Hawaii time (3pm in the Virgin Islands/Puerto Rico, 2pm East Coast, 11am Pacific, and 5am Guam time).

Share

Comments are closed.