“The History and Future of Election Law Symposium”

This looks to be a great event at Ohio State with an all-star cast that I unfortunately have to miss:


Please join us on Friday, November 20, for the Ohio State Law Journal’s 2015 Symposium: The History and Future of Election Law.

The goal of the symposium is to look systematically at the past in an effort to consider the possibilities of future developments in various areas of election law. There will be four panels: (1) The History and Future of Redistricting and Gerrymanders, (2) The History and Future of Campaign Finance, (3) The History and Future of Voting Rules and (4) The History and Future of Election Law Generally. Enjoy an enlightening discussion with our esteemed interdisciplinary panelists as they explore how our nation’s democratic procedures arrived at the point where they are today and where they conceivably might be heading in the future.

Panelists and Moderators include:

·         Professor Stephen Ansolabehere, Harvard University, Department of Government

·         Professor Richard Briffault, Columbia Law School

·         Professor Bruce Cain, Stanford University, Department of Political Science

·         Professor Kareem Crayton, University of North Carolina School of Law

·         Professor Erik Engstrom, University of California, Davis, Department of Political Science

·         Professor Ned Foley, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

·         Professor Anthony Gaughan, Drake University

·         Professor Steven Huefner, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

·         Professor Pam Karlan, Stanford University Law School

·         Professor Ellen Katz, University of Michigan Law School

·         Professor Alex Keyssar, Harvard John F. Kennedy School of Government

·         Professor Nate Persily, Stanford University Law School

·         Professor Rick Pildes, New York University School of Law

·         Professor David Stebenne, The Ohio State University

·         Professor Nicholas Stephanopoulos, University of Chicago Law School

·         Professor Zephyr Teachout, Fordham University School of Law

·         Professor Dan Tokaji, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Check-in and breakfast will begin at 8:30 a.m. and the Symposium will end with closing remarks at approximately 4:15 p.m.

The symposium is generously sponsored by The Democracy Studies Program, The Center for Interdisciplinary Law and Policy Studies, The American Constitution Society, and the Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF).

Share this: