Voting Rights this Afternoon at CBC Legislative Conference

Friday, Sept. 20, 2013

1:00 pm-3:00 pm:  Protecting the Right to Vote

Chairman John Conyers Judiciary Braintrust
Advancing the Civil Rights Agenda
Washington Convention Center: Room 143-A

Moderator: Prof. Spencer Overton, George Washington University Law School
Barbara R. Arnwine, Executive Director, Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights
Nicole M. Austin-Hillery, Director and Counsel- Washington Office, Brennan Center for Justice
Wade Henderson, President & CEO of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Dr.  Tyson D. King-Meadows, Ph.D., University of Maryland Baltimore County
Greg Moore, Executive Director, NAACP National Voter Fund
Prof. Charles Ogletree, Harvard Law School
Becky Pringle, Secretary/Treasurer, National Education Association
Deborah J. Vagins, Senior Legislative Counsel, ACLU Washington Legislative Office

3:00 pm-5:00 pm: Honorable A. Leon Higginbotham Memorial Voting Rights Braintrust
Organized by Congressman Mel Watt
Washington Convention Center Room 143-BKeynote
Honorable Eric H. Holder, Jr., Attorney General of the United States

Chairman F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (WI)
Representative Robert “Bobby” Scott (VA)

Moderator & Panelists
Moderator:  Congressman Mel Watt (NC)
Sherrilyn Ifill, President and Director-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
Anita Earls, Founder and Executive Director, Southern Coalition for Social Justice

Share this: