“Criminalizing the vote: GOP-led states enacted 102 new election penalties after 2020”

News from the States:

Since the 2020 election, 26 states have enacted, expanded, or increased the severity of 120 election-related criminal penalties, according to an analysis by States Newsroom of state legislation and data from the Voting Rights Lab. 

Of those new penalties, 102 of them — the vast majority — were enacted in 18 Republican-controlled states:  Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, West Virginia, and Wyoming. 

[See all of the new criminal penalties here]

Share this: