On Thursday: Two APSA Panels Sponsored by the Law and Political Process Study Group (Voting Rights and Redistricting; Bush v. Gore 2.0)

Hope many of you can join us in these virtual panels:

Protecting Voting Rights in Redistricting and at the Ballot Box: Past and Future

Thu, September 10, 8:00 to 9:30am MDT (7:00 to 8:30am PDT), TBA

Session Submission Type: Created Panel

Session Description

Looking ahead to the 2020 election and the 2021 round of redistricting, this panel considers the ways in which voting and redistricting are and have been shaped by state and federal legislative protections for voting rights. The Supreme Court’s decision rendering inoperative the centerpiece of the Voting Rights Act prompts a fulsome scholarly evaluation of the social and political contributions of the preclearance regime. It also puts the spotlight of the Act even more squarely on Section 2’s protections against diluting minority strength. Finally, that the decision entails significant withdrawal of federal involvement in protecting voting rights amplifies state-level legislative solutions.

Sub Unit

Individual Presentations

Chair

Discussant

Bush v. Gore 2.0? Foreign Interference, Incompetence, and Misinformation in 2020

Thu, September 10, 12:00 to 1:30pm MDT (11:00am to 12:30pm PDT), TBA

Session Submission Type: Roundtable

Session Description

This roundtable considers challenges to the administration of the United States presidential election in 2020. Threats from foreign interference, election maladministration, and the spread of misinformation on social media threaten the integrity and acceptance of the results of the 2020 elections. This roundtable will consider the range of problems that may contribute to an election meltdown, and potential solutions.

Sub Unit

Chair

Presenters

Share

Comments are closed.