Registration Now Open for Feb. 28 UCI Law Event: Can American Democracy Survive the 2020 Election?

Very excited about this:

Can American Democracy Survive the 2020 Elections?

The role of media, law, political norms, and technology in assuring acceptance of election results.


February 28, 2020
8:15 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
UCI Division of Continuing Education, Yosemite Ballroom


Tentative Schedule (PDF)

This event is presented in conjunction with the UCI Jack W. Peltason Center for the Study of Democracy and with the generous support of the Democracy Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and the Mertz Gilmore Foundation.

  • Andrew AppelEugene Higgins Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University
  • Julia AzariAssociate Professor and Assistant Chair of Political Science, Marquette University
  • David BeckerExecutive Director & Founder, Center for Election Innovation and Research
  • The Hon. Jocelyn BensonSecretary of State, Michigan
  • Bruce CainProfessor of Political Science, Stanford University
  • Jack DoppeltHamad bin Khalifa Al Thani Professor of Journalism, Northwestern University
  • Tiana Epps-JohnsonFounder & Executive Director, Center for Technology and Civic Life
  • Ned FoleyCharles W. Ebersold and Florence Whitcomb Ebersold Chair in Constitutional Law; Director, Election Law @ Moritz, Ohio State University
  • John FortierDirector of Governmental Studies, Bipartisan Policy Center
  • Patty HansenCoconino County, AZ Recorder
  • Rick HasenChancellor’s Professor of Law and Political Science, UCI Law
  • Liz HowardCounsel, Brennan Center’s Democracy Program
  • Jessica HusemanVoting Rights and Election Administration Reporter, ProPublica
  • David KayeClinical Professor of Law, International Justice Clinic Director (UCI Law), and UN Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression
  • Neal KelleyOrange County, CA Registrar
  • The Hon. Frank LaRoseSecretary of State, Ohio
  • Matt MastersonU.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Michael MorleyAssistant Professor of Law, Florida State University
  • Janai NelsonAssociate Direct-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Brendan NyhanProfessor of Government, Dartmouth College
  • Cailin O’ConnorAssociate Professor of Logic and Philosophy Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Norm OrnsteinResident Scholar, AEI
  • Nina PeralesVice President of Litigation, MALDEF
  • Nate PersilyJames B. McClatchy Professor of Law, Stanford University
  • Rick PildesSudler Family Professor of Constitutional Law, NYU
  • Song RichardsonDean and Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UCI Law
  • Bertrall RossChancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
  • Alex StamosDirector, Stanford Internet Observatory, Stanford University
  • Charles StewartKenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Political Science, MIT
  • Michael TeslerAssociate Professor of Political Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Ciara Torres-SpelliscyProfessor of Law, Stetson University
  • James WeatherallProfessor of Logic and Philosophy of Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Amy WilentzProfessor of English, UCI School of Humanities
  • Kim ZetterJournalist and Author

Comments are closed.