Save the Date (Feb. 28, 2020) for Important UCI Conference: “Can American Democracy Survive the 2020 Elections?”

I’ve been working with UCI Law staff on putting this Feb, 28, 2020 event together for some time, and more details will be forthcoming, but for now, here’s a save the date:

Can American Democracy Survive the 2020 Elections?

The role of media, law, political norms, and technology in assuring acceptance of election results.


February 28, 2020
8:15 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
UCI Division of Continuing Education, Yosemite Ballroom

RSVP details to come

This event is presented in conjunction with the UCI Jack W. Peltason Center for the Study of Democracy and with the generous support of the Democracy Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and the Mertz Gilmore Foundation.

  • Andrew Appel. Eugene Higgins Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University
  • Julia Azari, Associate Professor and Assistant Chair of Political Science, Marquette University
  • David Becker, Executive Director & Founder, Center for Election Innovation and Research
  • The Hon. Jocelyn Benson, Secretary of State, Michigan
  • Bruce Cain, Professor of Political Science, Stanford University
  • Jack Doppelt, Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani Professor of Journalism, Northwestern University
  • Tiana Epps-Johnson, Founder & Executive Director, Center for Technology and Civic Life
  • Ned Foley, Charles W. Ebersold and Florence Whitcomb Ebersold Chair in Constitutional Law; Director, Election Law @ Moritz, Ohio State University
  • John Fortier, Director of Governmental Studies, Bipartisan Policy Center
  • Patty Hansen, Coconino County, AZ Recorder
  • Rick Hasen, Chancellor’s Professor of Law and Political Science, UCI Law
  • Liz Howard, Counsel, Brennan Center’s Democracy Program
  • Jessica Huseman, Voting Rights and Election Administration Reporter, ProPublica
  • David Kaye, Clinical Professor of Law, International Justice Clinic Director (UCI Law), and UN Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression
  • Neal Kelley, Orange County, CA Registrar
  • The Hon. Frank LaRose, Secretary of State, Ohio
  • Matt Masterson, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Michael Morley, Assistant Professor of Law, Florida State University
  • Janai Nelson, Associate Direct-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Brendan Nyhan, Professor of Government, Dartmouth College
  • Cailin O’Connor, Associate Professor of Logic and Philosophy Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Norm Ornstein, Resident Scholar, AEI
  • Nina Perales, Vice President of Litigation, MALDEF
  • Nate Persily, James B. McClatchy Professor of Law, Stanford University
  • Rick Pildes ,Sudler Family Professor of Constitutional Law, NYU
  • Song Richardson, Dean and Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UCI Law
  • Bertrall Ross, Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
  • Alex Stamos, Director, Stanford Internet Observatory, Stanford University
  • Charles Stewart, Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Political Science, MIT
  • Michael Tesler, Associate Professor of Political Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Ciara Torres-Spelliscy, Professor of Law, Stetson University
  • James Weatherall, Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Amy Wilentz, Professor of English, UCI School of Humanities
  • Kim Zetter, Independent Journalist

Comments are closed.