Election Law Academics Update

Here’s my yearly roundup of election law academic hires, promotions moves, visits, accolades:

Benjamin Plener Cover will be starting as Associate Professor of Law at the University of Idaho College of Law.

Josh Douglas of Kentucky Law was a Visiting Scholar at the University of Edinburgh Law School in May 2017.

Jim Gardner will finish his 2.5 year stint as interim dean of Buffalo Law.

Heather Gerken was named the new dean at Yale Law.

Sarah Haan received tenure at Idaho Law and will be moving to Washington & Lee.

Eitan Hersh will be moving to a tenured position in the Tufts political science department.

Justin Levitt, after finishing a stint at DOJ, returns to Loyola Law School (LA) as the new Associate Dean for Research.

Lisa Manheim received tenure and promotion to associate professor at the University of Washington School of Law.

Derek Muller received tenure at Pepperdine University School of Law and is visiting at the University of Iowa College of Law for the Fall 2017 semester.

Nate Persily will be a fellow next year at the Center for  Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences.

Miles Rapoport was appointed in January of 2017 to a newly created Senior Practice Fellowship in American Democracy at the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation at the Kennedy School at Harvard.

David Schleicher received tenure at Yale Law.

Dan Smith will chair the U Florida political science department.

Doug Spencer was granted tenure at UConn Law.

Nick Stephanopoulos was granted tenure at Chicago Law.

Franita Tolson accepted a move to USC Law.

Ciara Torres-Spelliscy was awarded the Leroy Highbaugh Sr. Research Chair by Stetson University College of Law in 2017.


Congratulations all!


Comments are closed.