“The Freshman Filibuster Reformers”

Brennan Center: “Of the twelve new Senators elected, eight endorsed filibuster reform during the campaign. Senators-elect Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Mazie Hirono (HI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Chris Murphy (D-CT) Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), and Angus King (I-ME) join a chamber where the appetite for combating filibuster abuse is growing. In January of 2011, the Senate voted 44-51 to change the Senate rules and rein in obstructionist activity. Five of the freshman reformers replace Senators who voted against the rules changes.”

Also, “A new Brennan Center report details the sharp rise in legislative obstruction in the Senate and offers a blueprint to curb filibuster abuse in the next Congress. It comes amid serious discussions by Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid and others to make filibuster reform a top priority.”


Comments are closed.